

Government of India Ministry of Earth Sciences India Meteorological Department



Press Release Date: 21st December 2024 Time of Issue: 1900 Hrs IST

Subject: Shortest Day Length on Winter Solstice

The winter solstice marks the shortest day and longest night of the year. In the Northern Hemisphere, it occurs when the sun is directly over the Tropic of Capricorn, which is located at 23.5° south of the equator and runs through Australia, Chile, southern Brazil, and northern South Africa. Winter Solstice is the day on which the sun is in the southernmost position of the earth, and it occurs either on the 21^{st} or on 22^{nd} December. For this reason, the earth is tilted farthest away from the Sun. This causes the mostly reduced daylight time for all places in India, being in the Northern Hemisphere.

The country will have the shortest duration of day on 21st December, 2024 (30 Agrahayana, 1946 Saka Era).

The shortest day time on 21st December, 2024 in Delhi is 10 hrs. 19 min., Mumbai 10 hrs.59 min, Chennai 11 hrs.22 min. and Kolkata 10 hrs. 46 min.

Sunrise, Sunset and day time duration on 21st December, 2024 for a few places of India is Given below:

Station	Sunrise		Sunset		Duration of the daylight	
	Hours	Minutes	Hours	Minutes	Hours	Minutes
Central Station(82.5E,25.15N)	6	37	17	20	10	43
Chennai	6	26	17	48	11	22
Delhi	7	10	17	29	10	19
Kolkata	6	12	16	58	10	46
Mumbai	7	7	18	6	10	59
Agratala	6	3	16	43	10	40
Ahmedabad	7	16	17	59	10	43
Aizawl	5	57	16	37	10	40
Amravati	6	32	17	41	11	9
Bangalore	6	37	17	59	11	22
Bhopal	6	58	17	40	10	42
Bhubaneswar	6	17	17	12	10	55
Chandigarh	7	17	17	26	10	9
Daman	7	10	18	4	10	54
Dehradun	7	11	17	22	10	11
Dispur	6	6	16	36	10	30
Gandhinagar	7	16	17	59	10	43
Gangtok	6	21	16	46	10	25
Goa	6	57	18	9	11	12
Guwahati	6	7	16	37	10	30
Hyderabad	6	42	17	47	11	5
Imphal	5	54	16	31	10	37
Itanagar	6	1	16	26	10	25
Jaypur	7	12	17	39	10	27

Kohima	5	55	16	27	10	32
Lucknow	6	51	17	18	10	27
Patna	6	31	17	4	10	33
Raipur	6	36	17	27	10	51
Ranchi	6	26	17	8	10	42
shilling	6	4	16	37	10	33
Shimla	7	16	17	24	10	8
Srinagar	7	33	17	26	9	53
Thiruvananthapuram	6	31	18	9	11	38